The greatest legends of German football united in one place for the first time - at the initiative of the German Football Museum, a group of leading sportswriters selected the inaugural teams of the German football HALL OF FAME. The Hall of Fame has formed part of the permanent exhibition in Dortmund since April 2019.

      Eight of the twelve members of the men's inaugural team attended the HALL OF FAME induction ceremony in Dortmund. A memorable evening in the presence of additional big-name celebrities from sport and society such as Philipp Lahm, Jean-Marie Pfaff, Thomas Gottschalk, Heino and Mark Forster. In a very personal welcome speech, North Rhine-Westphalia state premier Armin Laschet recalled the admiration he felt in his youth for the legends of football. A total of 400 invited guests turned the gala into a social happening.


      The HALL OF FAME of German football seeks to honour outstanding players and coaches from the men's and women's game and cement their status in the historical consciousness of German football. The Hall of Famers are selected by a jury made up of leading German sportswriters and the museum director.

      The HALL OF FAME is supported by the German Football Museum, which has undertaken to provide a lasting home and preserve memories worthy of the national game and its outstanding personalities. New members are inducted into the HALL OF FAME once a year at a festive gala.

      On establishment of the HALL OF FAME, eleven men and eleven women plus one coach per inaugural team were selected by the jury. The inaugural teams were nominated by position according to a specific playing system (3-4-3).

      Essentially, any male or female German player from 1900 to the present day who has been retired for at least five years is eligible for nomination. Particular consideration will be given to players with an exceptional record of performance for the national team before or after the war, for the former DDR national team, and in domestic and international club football.


      • Dirk Adam (FOCUS)
      • Frederik Ahrens (Hamburger Morgenpost)
      • Gernot Bauer (Eurosport)
      • Michael Bracher (DAZN)
      • Gianni Costa (Rheinische Post)
      • Alfred Draxler (BILD)
      • Ralph Durry (SID)
      • Stefan Frommann (WELT/WELT am SONNTAG)
      • Thomas Fuhrmann (ZDF)
      • Pit Gottschalk (Sport1)
      • Anno Hecker (Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung)
      • Christian Hollmann (dpa)
      • Jörg Jakob (kicker)
      • André Keil (VDS)
      • Sascha Klaverkamp (Ruhr Nachrichten)
      • Erich Laaser (VDS)
      • Alexander Laux (Hamburger Abendblatt)
      • Christian Löer (Kölner Stadt-Anzeiger)
      • Tino Meyer (Sächsische Zeitung)
      • Peter Müller (FUNKE Sport)
      • Mario Nauen (Sky)
      • Manuel Neukirchner (Deutsches Fußballmuseum)
      • Heiko Ostendorp (RND)
      • Dirk Preiß (Stuttgarter Zeitung/Nachrichten)
      • Frank Robens (RTL)
      • Katrin Schulze (Der Tagesspiegel)
      • Dirc Seemann (Sport1)
      • Steffen Simon (WDR/ARD-Fernsehen)
      • Martin Volkmar (SPOX, Goal)
      • Mark Weishaupt (Saarbrücker Zeitung)  
      Share this page

      Premium Partner

      • adidas
      • Volkswagen


      • DEW21
      • Sparkasse
      • Bitburger

      Project Partners

      • DFB
      • Bundesliga
      • NRW
      • Stadt Dortmund


      • BKM -Die Beauftrage der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien
      • Landeswappen NRW Kultur und Wissenschaft
      • Stiftung Fußball & Kultur EURO2024
      • Heimspiel für Europa