Silke Rottenberg

      25. Januar 1972, Euskirchen

      1987 VfL Euskirchen
      1988-1991 SV Grün-Weiß Brauweiler
      1991-1996 TSV Siegen
      1996-2000 Sportfreunde Siegen
      2003-2006 FCR 2001 Duisburg
      2006-2008 1. FFC Frankfurt

      Deutsche Meisterin: 1994, 1996, 2007, 2008
      DFB-Pokalsiegerin: 1991, 1993, 2007, 2008
      UEFA Women’s Cup-Siegerin: 2008

      National Team:
      126 caps
      Weltmeisterin: 2003, 2007
      Europameisterin: 1997, 2001, 2005
      Olympische Bronzemedaille: 2000, 2004

      Equipped with the elemental attributes required of a goalkeeper of physical presence, reaction speed and spring, Silke Rottenberg lifted the position to a new dimension despite being a latecomer. Not until she was 16 did she make the transition from outfield player to shot stopper. The way she approached one-on-one situations, controlled her penalty area and saved shots had rarely been seen in women's football before. With her cat-like movements, terrific diving saves and assurance with the ball in her hands or at her feet, she was ahead of her time.

      She thus became a guarantee of success for both club and country, which she represented for 15 years after making her debut in 1993. As Germany No1, she spent most of her time in constant competition with the equally formidable Nadine Angerer, who had to exercise patience until finally taking over from the three-time European Champion and 2003 World Cup winner. Rottenberg lost her first-team place after tearing a cruciate ligament before the 2007 World Cup, but she never lost heart. The serious injury did not prevent her making the World Cup squad, however, and despite not featuring she was able to help Germany defend their World Cup title with her indomitable team spirit.

      Share this page

      Premium Partner

      • adidas
      • Volkswagen


      • DEW21
      • Sparkasse
      • Bitburger

      Project Partners

      • DFB
      • Bundesliga
      • NRW
      • Stadt Dortmund


      • BKM -Die Beauftrage der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien
      • Landeswappen NRW Kultur und Wissenschaft